Northeast Students Qualify for PTK Honor Society

by jamesc  2/28/2014 10:04:57 AM --  NORFOLK - Several students at Northeast Community College have qualified for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, (PTK), Tau Chi Chapter. Since the installation of Northeast’s Tau Chi chapter in 1996, some 2,779 students have been inducted into the international academic honor society for two-year colleges. For more than 80 years, membership in Phi Theta Kappa has signified a singular honor and a willingness to embrace the Society’s shared commitment to academic excellence. To be eligible for PTK, students must have earned at least 12 credit hours and achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 or above out of a 4.0 system.


The following have qualified for PTK during this spring semester:

Hometown                       Name

Ashland                             Cash Campbell
Ainsworth                          William Kackmeister
Allen                                   Brittany Sullivan
Beemer                              Josi Bradfield  
Bellevue                             Tiffany Jacox
Bloomfield                          Ruby Akuoko-Frimpong
Broken Bow                       Jarod Allen
Brunswick                          Celine Eggerling
Coleridge                            Michel Leapley               
Columbus                           Sarah Baney, McKayla Sander, Nathan Thege
Craig                                   Jessica Shepardson      
Creighton                           Gary Opkis, Karissa Rudloff
Dakota City                         Bryan Delgadillo
Elgin                                    Kendra Kallhoff, Chelsi Mescher              
Fordyce                               Elizabeth Steffen, Jarinda Sudbeck
Fremont                              Kayleen Kallweit
Howells                               Adam Burenheide
Humphrey                          Nathan Classen
Lexington                           Lazaro Martinez-Perez
Lyons                                 Taylor Mentink
Leigh                                  Alex Settje
Lindsay                              Laura Wiese, Jennifer Moravec
Madison                             Morgan Makelin, Aric Manthey
McLean                              Jacob Eckstrom, Alison Schmit
Neligh                                 Brook Ingalls, Dillon Smith
Newman Grove                 Jason Kaufman
Norfolk                               Morgan Benck, Eric Chambers, Yarilys Delgado-Santos, Anthony Ekra, Bethlehem Engida, Nicolle Francis, Mohamed Yacoub Gbane, Kelley Gentry, Jennifer Holloway, Jisu Kim, Mitchell Kozak, Nathan Leader, Kevin Lemus, Mitchell Lienemann, Joseph Lose,  Tera Newcombe, Diane Ouedraogo, Seth Pohlman, Tanner Powell, Yunwon Seol, Lukas Steffen,                Benjamin Temple, Jessa Tiedtke, Caleb Toltzman
Oakdale                             Angela Richart
Osmond                            Dalson Hitz, Brianna Kumm, Emily Schmit
Overton                             Grace Ecklund
Randolph                          Denise Childress, Kirtsen Fink, Kathryn Kuchta
Scotia                                Nicole Cargill
So. Sioux City                   Vasna DeBaere, Benjamin Jividen
Spalding                            Megan Fielder
Stanton                             Brandon Bell, Kennedy Cheyney, April Kander
Stuart                                Brooke Jarman
Tilden                                Michaela Grubb
Valentine                           Alex Dredge, Karly Liska
Wakefield                          Kayla Rewinkel
Wausa                               Adam Kleinschmit
Wayne                               Sarah Maxon
Whitney                             Margaret Earney
Wisner                               Nicole Kay

Out of State

IA, Pisgah                         Mason Mentink
IA, Sioux City                    Marie Beamon, Crystal Trudeau
SD, Avon                          Kayla Anderson
SD, Lake Andes               Sierra Svatos
SD, Sprinfield                   Jessica Simons
SD, Yankton                     Rebekah Frederick, Rachel Frederick

Phi Theta Kappa sponsors are wellness/aerobics instructor Amy Ries, English instructor Bonnie Johnson-Bartee, wind energy instructor Glen Lammers, CAD/drafting instructor Danny Whitlock, and Pam Miller, College Center Dean.

Northeast Community College offers over 80 concentrations/options of study preparing students for immediate employment or transfer to a four-­year college or university.


Posted In -- West Point, Students and Alumni, South Sioux City, Press Releases, O'Neill, Norfolk, Honors, Faculty and Staff, Degrees and Programs

More News »