Library Resources

Reference and Research Tools

Almanacs

Information Please Almanac

Biographies

Biographical Dictionary
Biography.com Database

Careers

O*NET Online

Citing Sources

Knight Cite
Easy Bib
OWL- Purdue University Online Writing Lab

Converters and Conversion Tables

Universal Currency Converter

Copyright Guidelines

Association of Research Libraries

Countries

World Fact Book

Dictionaries and Thesauri

American Heritage Dictionary/Thesaurus
Dictionary.com
YourDictionary.com

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia.com
Wikipedia.org
Citizendium.org

Government Information

U.S. Senate
United States House of Representatives
Nebraska Legislature

Health Information

MEDLINEplus
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
US Food and Drug Administration
Clinical Trials
Mayo Clinic
PubMed
MedLine

Libraries

Library of Congress

Maps

Lycos Road Maps
Mapquest

Photographs and Images

Fotogenika
Free Digital Photos
Free Media Goo
From Old Books
Image After
Mayangs Free Textures

Postal Information

United States Postal Service

Quotations

The Quotations Page
Quotations Search

Reference

Librarians' Index to the Internet

Statistics

Census Bureau

Telephone Directories

SuperPages
Switchboard
WhoWhere?

Television

Links to networks, stations, and schedules

Weather

Rain or Shine.com
The Weather Channel
Weather Underground


Recommended Websites

Below is a listing of librarian/instructor evaluated web sites in major areas of study.

Administrative Assistant

Microsoft Office Online http://office.microsoft.com/home/default.aspx
The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation http://www.grammarbook.com
 

Agricultural Studies

State of Nebraska –
Contains a link to information on agriculture in Nebraska
http://www.nebraska.gov
USDA –
United States Department of Agriculture
http://www.usda.gov
National Agricultural Statistics Service http://www.nass.usda.gov
National Agricultural Library http://www.nal.usda.gov
Nebraska Department of Natural Resources http://www.dnr.state.ne.us
UNL School of Natural Resources http://snr.unl.edu
 

Animal Sciences/Vet. Tech.

The Merck Veterinary Manual http://www.merckvetmanual.com/mvm/index.jsp
AVMA – The American Veterinary Medical Association http://www.avma.org
NetVet http://netvet.wustl.edu
FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine http://www.fda.gov/cvm/default.html
Veterinary Professionals http://vetlearn.com
 

Art

The Art History Research Center http://art-history.concordia.ca/
Art History Resources http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html
The Getty Center http://www.getty.edu/art/
Metropolitan Museum of Art http://www.metmuseum.org
Museum of Contemporary Art http://www.mcachicago.org
Museum of Modern Art (NYC) http://www.moma.org
National Gallery of Art http://www.nga.gov
National Portrait Gallery http://www.npg.si.edu
Smart History http://smarthistory.khanacademy.org/
Smithsonian http://www.si.edu/research/online-collections-datasets.htm
Web Gallery of Art http://www.wga.hu
 

Audio Recording/Broadcasting

Federal Communications Commission http://www.fcc.gov
National Association of Broadcasters http://www.nab.org
Nebraska Broadcasters Association http://www.ne-ba.org
 

Automotive

ALLDATA –
Automotive Diagnostic and Research Information Database (password required)
http://library.alldatapro.com
 

Business

GlobalEdge:
International Business Resources on the www.
http://globaledge.msu.edu/
The Wall Street Journal Interactive Edition http://online.wsj.com/public/us
U.S. Business Advisor http://www.business.gov
World Fact Book
(U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Business Week Magazine
http://www.businessweek.com
U.S. Department of Labor http://www.dol.gov
New York Stock Exchange Fact Book Online http://www.nysedata.com/factbook/main.asp
CEO Express http://www.ceoexpress.com
Securities and Exchange Commission http://www.sec.gov
 

Construction Trades

Energy Star Programs http://www.energystar.gov
Environmental Building News http://www.ebuild.com
Free Green http://www.freegreen.com
State of Nebraska –
Links to information on licensing in the state of Nebraska.
http://www.nebraska.gov
The Lighting Research Center http://lighting.lrc.rpi.edu
 

Criminal Justice

Officer.com http://officer.com
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service http://ncjrs.gov/
State of Nebraska http://www.nebraska.gov
 

Early Childhood Education

A to Z Kids Stuff http://www.atozkidsstuff.com/
Art Through Creative Recycling http://www.kid-at-art.com
Baby Center http://www.babycenter.com
Babysitting http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/babysitting
Preschool http://www.preschoolrainbow.org/
Certificate Creator http://www.CertificateCreator.com
ChildFun Family Website http://childfun.com/
Children’s Television Workshop (Sesame Street) http://ctw.org
Crafts for Kids http://www.enchantedlearning.com/crafts
Education Child Development http://www.education.com
Everything Preschool http://www.everythingpreschool.com/
Family Fun http://www.familyfun.com
Gardening http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/kindergarden/kinder.htm
Kinder Korner http://kinderkorner.com/
Mother Goose Pages http://www-personal.umich.edu/~pfa/dreamhouse/nursery/rhymesABC.html
Picture Dictionary & Activities http://www.EnchantedLearning.com/Dictionary.html
Preschool Education http://www.preschooleducation.com/
Preschool Express http://preschoolexpress.com/
Preschool Printables http://www.preschoolprintables.com/
Recipes 4 Learning http://www.recipes4learning.com
Science for Families http://eduplace.com/parents/hmsc
Switcheroo Zoo http://www.switcheroozoo.com/default.htm
Teacher-created materials http://www.teachercreated.com/free/
 

Education

National Geographic’s Education Pages http://www.nationalgeographic.com/education/
State of Nebraska - Links to information on education in the state of Nebraska http://www.nebraska.gov
U.S. Department of Education http://www.ed.gov/
Mailbox Magazine http://www.themailbox.com
 

Environment

US Environment Protection Agency http://www.epa.gov
Earth 911 http://www.earth911.org
Encyclopedia of Earth http://www.eoearth.org
Toxic Chemical Map http://www.toxmap.nlm.nih.gov
Household Products http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov
American Wind Energy Association http://www.awea.org/
Renewable Fuels Association http://www.ethanolrfa.org/
 

Government and Political Science

FirstGov: Your first click to the U.S. Government http://www.firstgov.gov
National Journal http://nationaljournal.com/
National Political Index http://www.politicalindex.com
State of Nebraska http://www.nebraska.gov
THOMAS:
Legislative Information of the Internet
http://thomas.loc.gov/home/thomas.html
 

Health and Physical Education

AAHPERD –
American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
http://www.aahperd.org/
MedLine Plus http://medlineplus.gov/
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
MedLine http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html
 

History and Culture

History Matters http://historymatters.gmu.edu/browse/wwwhistory
Internet Modern History Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.html
Schmoop http://www.shmoop.com
Best of History Web Sites http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.html
Smithsonian http://si.edu
 

Information Technology/Computers

NIST –
National Institute of Standards of Technology
http://www.nist.gov/
 

Languages

Dictionary of Spanish http://www.spanishdict.com
Word Reference.com http://www.wordreference.com
 

Literature

The Academy of American Poets http://www.poets.org
A Celebration of Women Writers http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/
The Literature Network http://www.online-literature.com
Literary Resources on the Net http://www.andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
 

Medicine/Nursing

Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity http://www.ahdionline.org
ChemID Plus http://www.chem.sis.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus
Genetics http://www.ghr.nlm.nih.gov
Human Anatomy Online http://www.innerbody.com/
HyperDoc: U.S. National Library of Medicine http://www.nlm.nih.gov
Nebraska Center of Nursing – for LPN and ADN http://www.center4nursing.com
Nursing Times – Nursing News http://www.nursingtimes.net/nursingtimes/pages/Home
Portal to Health Sites http://www.health.gov
Physicians' Desk Reference http://www.pdr.net
State of Nebraska –
Links to information on licensing in the state of Nebraska.
http://www.nebraska.gov
Toxicology Data Network http://www.toxnet.nlm.nih.gov
US National Library of Medicine and National Institute of Health http://www.pubmed.gov
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
MedLine http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html
Penn Nursing Science History and Health Care http://www.nursing.upenn.edu/nhhc/Pages/Welcome.aspx
 

Medicine/Physical Therapy

Human Anatomy Online http://www.innerbody.com/
State of Nebraska –
Links to information on licensing in the state of Nebraska
http://www.nebraska.gov
The National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project http://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html
PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed
MedLine http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pmresources.html
American Physical Therapy Association http://www.apta.org
 

Music

Billboard Online http://www.billboard.com
 

Psychology

American Psychological Association http://www.apa.org
 

Sciences/General

Animal Diversity Web http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/index.html
Kimball’s Biology Pages http://users.rcn.com/jkimball.ma.ultranet/BiologyPages/
NIST Chemistry Web Book http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
WebElements http://www.webelements.com/
HyperPhysics http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hphys.html
Science http://www.science.gov
 

Truck Driving

American Trucking Associations http://www.truckline.com
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov